Spring squash winners decided

The Cooma Squash Club held the finals at the courts on Thursday night. In "A" grade Hydraulinks Cooma came out the winners defeating Paul Dyball Builders. Corey Bedingfield set the tone by def. Phil Ingram. Phil was playing his last game for the club for 12 months as he is doing an exchange program overseas.

Luke Abraham had a good match against Peter Mould before defeating him in three games. Andrew Freeburn thought he was going to have an easy match against Mark Kenmir, winning the first two games 9-0,9-3. However Mark does not go down easily and took the next two, but succumbed in the fifth. The Tonini family rounded up the match with Jared beating his sister Kailey 3-1 Even though Kailey has been playing B grade she made him work for the result.

In "B" grade Monaro Discount Tyres defeating Cooma Crane Hire with the final result not decided till the last match. Corey Stockton - a newcomer to the comp. def. Lyn Elton in four. Then Peter Luk, who has not had a good run during the comp. took on the ever cagey Susan Walters. They went to five games - with Susan coming out the eventual winner after some very good squash. Matt Shirvington then played another newcomer to the comp. Ned McDonnell and had a good win - Matt has been playing very well through the whole comp. This left the final match between Sarah Hamilton and Darrell Gaukroger. This was won by Sarah in 4 - although the 70+ year old put up a fight and took one game off her.

The comp average winners were presented with their trophies on the night. Results were:

"A" Grade - A1 Corey Bedingfield, A2 Luke McDonald, A3 Andrew Freeburn and A4 Jan Wassink.

"B" Grade - B1 Susan Walters, B2 Alex Walters, B3 Tony Potter, B4 Matt Shirvington

During November the Club Championships were played and trophies were presented to the following players:


A grade champion - Tara Pateman

B grade champion - Kailey Tonini, r/up Kim Kleven

B grade Plate - Irene Tozer


A Grade champion - Corey Bedingfield, r/up Phil Ingram

A grade Plate - Luke McDonald

B grade champion - Hayden Smith, r/up Stuart Wood

B grade Plate - Matthew Kent

The final award of the night was the presentation of the Rorey Kennedy Award - voted by club members. It was won (for the second time) by Corey Bedingfield - and rightly so. Corey has once again done a sterling job organising the comps. through the year and it has been obviously appreciated by all members. The Summer comp will begin during January - there will be some chook runs in the meantime.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide