Plans to boost arts and culture in Cooma

AFTER being established in late 2011, Cooma-Monaro Shire Council's Arts and Cultural Committee will continue to advance and develop artistic and cultural activities through collaboration, support and advocacy in 2013.

The committee had its second meeting of the year last Wednesday.

Committee members represent a broad cross section of the various arts and cultural groups across the shire including the Raglan Gallery and Cultural Centre, the Cooma Little Theatre and the Snowy Monaro Arts Council.

Members include Yvi Henderson, Stephanie McDonald, Merilyn Minell, Glenyss Allen, Cherie Booker, Jim Brindle, Tennille Casanova-Sturgeon, Frans de Ruijter, Tim Searle and Mark Shubert.

Tourism manager Donna Smith is the committee's secretary.

The objectives of the committee, which is chaired by councillor Craig Mitchell, is to progress the council's cultural plan, identify council's arts and cultural community, identify resources and facilities that support arts and cultural expression in the shire, and build capacity for arts and cultural activities within the shire through collaboration and partnerships. It also facilitates effective communication with council and the broader community as well as other organisations, celebrate local artistic achievements, support regional national and international opportunities and establish a public arts advisory sub committee.

The committee meets monthly.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide