Squash champions decided

The finals of the spring squash competition were held on Thursday night, along with the annual presentations, at the Cooma Squash Courts. There were some excellent matches played on the night in both grades and some very close finishes.

A grade was won by Hydraulinks Cooma, comprising John Kleven (as a sub for Corey Bedingfield), Craig Wheatley, Hayden Smith and Pete Ingram. Runners-up were Simon White, Chris Pendergast, Jan Wassink and Torin Findlow playing for Hillross. The game score was 9-8 - a close finish. Third and fourth places were filled by Truck Stop and Mark Kenmir & Co - where the result was decided by points as both teams won six games each.

B grade was won by the team that led from the start of the comp Hillross - Ged Mackay, Tim Wassink, Jim Nichols, Darcy Clayton (absent on the night) and Sarah Wolf (sub for Corey Morrison). They defeated Paul Dyball Builders - Stuart Wood, Annika Jones (sub for David Hogan), Jason Harris, Jeremy Mackay (absent) and Brad Constance. Jason Harris almost caused an upset when he missed out on winning the third game of his match by one point - a win would have turned the tables completely. Third and fourth places were filled by Hydraulinks Cooma and Mark Kenmir & Co.

Individual winners in A grade were Corey Bedingfield, John Kleven, Jan Wassink and James Hain. In B grade they were Susan Walters, Tim Wassink, Jim Nichols, Lyn Elton and Leanne Corby. Congratulations to them all - they were well deserved.

Championships were played in November and the winners were:

A grade Mens - Corey Bedingfield, runner-up Justin Bolton

A Grade Womens - Kailey Tonini, runner-up Alicia Bolton

B grade Mens - Chris Tame, runner-up John Harding

B Grade womens - Susan Walters, runner-up Kim Kleven

The winner of the Rory Kennedy medal for Best & Fairest for the year went to Susan Walters. Congratulations Susan - a fitting winner.

President John Kleven also paid tribute to one of our long serving members Irene Tozer who is putting herself out to grass after 36 years of squash - we will miss you.

There will be chicken runs played over the holiday period until the next comp starts in 2014.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide