Council's last meeting as election nears 

THE FINAL MEETING of the current Cooma-Monaro Shire council was held on Monday night. A presentation highlighting some of the achievements of the council during the last four years was shown and included the completion of upgrades to the Cooma Festival Swimming Pool.

It was the last council meeting for four of the councillors who have not nominated to stand at the upcoming local government election. Councillors Stephanie McDonald, Jack Nott, Jenny Lawlis and Roger Norton will not contest the election on September 8. However, it may not be the last council meeting for five of the councillors who have put their hand up for another term.

Mayor Dean Lynch, deputy mayor Bronnie Taylor, Martin Hughes, Tony Kaltoum and Winston Phillips have all nominated. They are amongst 16 candidates who will contest nine vacancies.

The ballot paper draw was undertaken on August 8 with Angela Ingram taking top position. Steve Allen is listed below her, followed by Rogan Corbett and then Will Lloyd.

Drawing fifth spot in the ballot was Bronnie Taylor, in sixth was Ignazio Mondello, followed by Denis Starrs, then Dean Lynch, Martin Hughes, Craig Mitchell and Winston Phillips. Tony Kaltoum is twelfth on the paper then John Perkins and lastly Andrew Thaler.

Glynn Kay and David Turner have nominated as a group.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide